Q: How old do you have to be to get an adult library card?
A: Children under 14 must have their parents present to get an adult library card. Children 14-17 may get an adult card if they have the proper I.D. and name a parent or legal guardian who will be financially responsible for the account.
Q: Can I get a card for my foster child?
A: Foster parents may get a card for their foster children. Those cards expire every six months.
Q: Can I get a card if I live outside of Salina?
A: Any resident of the State of Kansas may get a library card.
Q: Why am I debarred?
A: A patron will be debarred if a book is long overdue on your account or if fines are over $10. Patrons may also be debarred for specific behavioral problems as defined in our policies.
Q: Do you have any book drops outside the library?
A: Books and other material must be returned by the due date to the library or to the book drops at Dillon’s (Sunset, Southgate or Superstore). There is also a drive-up drop on the northwest corner of the building and you can drop off your books at Kansas Weslyan Univeristy book drop.
Q: Can I get a card good for use on the Internet only?
A: If you have photo ID, you can get an adult Internet only card. This card does not allow you to check out materials.
Q: Why do you limit the number of movies I can have?
A: The collection of DVDs, games, videos, graphic novels, anime and manga is in high demand, so we limit them. Patrons may check out 6 entertainment videos/DVDs, anime and CDs; 1 video game; or 50 non-fiction videos/DVDs and manga.
Q: How can I find out where I am at on the hold list?
You may call the circulation desk and or go to the library catalog. Log in with your library card number and password.
Q: How many items may I have on hold at one time?
A: You may have 10 items on hold at one time. Holds may be placed at the library or online.
Q: How do I check out or renew materials?
A: Your library card must be presented to check out materials. Library materials may be renewed one time (for the same amount of time as the original checkout), by phone, on the web or in person. You may place reserves on items that are checked out by other patrons, that are on the shelves, or that are still being processed at the Information Desk, on the library catalog website or by phone.
Q: Can I check out R-rated and mature games if I am under 18?
A: Anyone with an adult card may check out any material in the adult library. Parents may request that their child under 18 not be allowed to check out R-rated movies or mature games.
Q: Can someone else pick up items I have on hold?
A: If you have given us their name, another person may pick up your holds. If they are not listed on your account, we cannot let them take the material, but we will try to contact you and get that permission.
Q: Do you have wireless internet access?
A: Yes. The library offers high-speed wireless Internet access for patrons who want to use their own laptops or other portable devices. Access in the Youth Services Department and in the Information and Research/non-fiction areas is filtered, while access in the Tech Center, Circulation and south entry areas is unfiltered.
Q: How long can we be on a computer?
A: Patrons can sign up for 2 separate computer sessions each day. Internet PCs are available for 1 hour and office production PCs are available for 2 hours.
Q: Can we print?
A: Printing is available from all PCs. Black and white printouts are 10 cents and color printouts are $1.00.
Q: How do I get on a computer?
A: Patrons with a library card in good standing can sign up for a PC using the reservation software. For out-of-town guests, please go to the help desk and with a photo ID you will be given a PC.
Q: What if my library card is lost of stolen?
A: If your card is lost or stolen, let the library know immediately so that materials will not continue to be checked out on your account. You are responsible for any materials checked out on your library card if the card is lost or stolen and not reported. There is a $1.00 fee for card replacement.
Q: What are the fines and fees at the library?
A: Late materials have a fine of $.10 per day per item. The maximum fine per item is $3.00. Lost, stolen or damaged materials are the responsibility of the borrower. The average replacement cost plus a processing fee will be charged in these cases. Patrons with fines over $10 may not check out materials until their fines are $10 or less. Your library card will need to be renewed every three years at which time all outstanding fines must be paid.
Q: What are the checkout limits?
50 books, non-fiction videos/DVDs, tote bags, manga and graphic novels
6 entertainment videos/DVDs, anime, recorded books, music CDs, and magazines
1 video game or playaway