How do I get a library card?
To get a card to utilize online materials, complete the online form. To get a card, or to upgrade your virtual card to check out physical materials, bring a current ID to the library.
Patrons younger than 18 need to be accompanied by a parent, step-parent or legal guardian who accepts responsibility for the card and provides appropriate ID. Youth may receive either a youth card or a full patron card. The youth card limits check out to materials in Youth Services.
Can I get a card for my foster child?
Foster parents may get a card for their foster children. Those cards expire every six months.
Can I get a card if I live outside of Salina?
Any resident of the State of Kansas may get a library card. Virtual cards will only be mailed within Saline County.
Why am I restricted from borrowing?
Patrons with fines over $10 may not check out materials until their fines are $10 or less. Patrons may also be debarred for specific behavioral problems as defined in our policies.
Do you have any book drops outside the library?
Books and other materials must be returned by the due date to the library or to the book drops at Dillon’s (Cloud, Planet or Crawford). There is also a drive-up drop box on the northwest corner of the library building, and you can drop off your books at the Kansas Wesleyan University library drop box. Hotspots must be returned to the Circulation Desk.
Can I get a card good for use on the Internet only?
If you have a photo ID, you can get a virtual card. This card does not allow you to check out materials.
Why do you limit the number of movies I can have?
The collection of DVDs and games is in high demand, so we limit them. Patrons may check out 20 DVDs total, five of which can be high demand DVDs, and two games.
How can I find out where I am on the hold list?
You may call the Circulation Desk and or go to the library catalog. Log in with your library card number and password.
How many items may I have on hold at one time?
You may have 10 items on hold at one time, with the exception of the following:
- Hotspots, Book Discussion Books, World Book Encyclopedia or Playaway Launchpads — 1
- Games — 2
- Audiobooks, Playaways and Interlibrary Loans — 6
- General Movies and music CDs — 20
- Hot DVDs — 5
Holds may be placed at the library or online.
How do I check out or renew materials?
Your library card must be presented to check out materials. Library materials may be renewed one time (for the same amount of time as the original checkout), by phone, on the web or in person. You may place reserves on items that are checked out by other patrons, that are on the shelves, or that are still being processed at the Information Desk, on the library catalog website or by phone.
Can I check out R-rated and mature games if I am under 18?
Parents/guardians are responsible for anyone under 18 and the materials they check out. If a full patron card was provided by a parent or legal guardian, the person under 18 is allowed to check out any material in the library.
Can someone else pick up items I have on hold?
If you have given us their name, another person may pick up your holds except if the item is a hotspot. If they are not listed on your account, we cannot let them take the material, but we will try to contact you and get that permission.
Do you have wireless internet access?
Yes. The library offers high-speed wireless internet access for patrons who want to use their own laptops or other portable devices.
How long can we be on a computer?
Patrons can sign up for three separate computer sessions each day. Internet PCs are available for one hour.
Can we print?
Printing is available from all PCs. Black and white printouts are 10 cents per page.
How do I get on a computer?
Patrons with a library card in good standing can sign up for a PC using the reservation software. For out-of-town guests, please go to the help desk and with a photo ID, and you will be assigned a PC.
What if my library card is lost or stolen?
If your card is lost or stolen, let the library know immediately so that materials will not continue to be checked out on your account. You are responsible for any materials checked out on your library card if the card is lost or stolen and not reported. There is a $1 fee for card replacement.
What are the fines and fees at the library?
Late materials have a fine of 10 cents per day per item; the maximum fine per item is $3, except for Playaway Launchpads, which have a $3 per day fine and a max fine of $90.
Lost, stolen or damaged materials are the responsibility of the borrower. The average replacement cost plus a processing fee will be charged in these cases. An exact replacement copy may be accepted with prior permission. Patrons with fines over $10 may not check out materials until their fines are $10 or less. Patrons cannot check out items until lost, stolen or damaged materials have been paid for or replaced.
Your library card will need to be renewed every three years at which time all outstanding fines must be paid.
What are the checkout limits?
Patrons can check out a maximum of 50 items.
- 20 general DVDs and Music CDs
- 5 Hot DVDs
- 6 Audiobooks/Playaways
- 6 Interlibrary Loan Items
- 2 Games
- 1 Playaway Launchpad
- 1 Hotspot
- 1 Book Discussion Book
- 1 World Book Encyclopedia
- 50 Books/Early Literacy Kits/Children’s Books on CD/Magazines